The History of Eherold

The eherold was founded in the late Eighties. It supplemented the already existing international register GWF – “The General Register of Arms-bearing Families” and added a further dimension in the form of the Internet. Previously, publications had only been available in book form, but were now available world-wide – even as far as Mount Everest. The registrations it contains are mostly those from the Dochtermann archives and his successors, as well as from Pro Heraldica.

The eherold has always been accessible via the internet but its dissemination was limited by language to the German-speaking world.

Today, it is impossible to envisage a world without the Internet. Just how important it is today can be seen in the example of the Google group which was founded in 1998 and has even given rise to a new verb – today, the world “googles”.

Not least through the foundation of Pro Heraldica we have been increasingly confronted with enquiries about the registration of coats-of arms and in particular with the matter of international registration – an issue which eherold has taken up.

Expertise

The responsibility for eherold is shared between the Herald and Pro Heraldica, Deutsche Forschungsgesellschaft für Heraldik und Genealogie mbH and that is the reason why the language of erehold was originally German.

The Wappen-Herald

1960 saw the setting up of the Deutsche Heraldische Gesellschaft – the Wappen-Herald.
Our objective was to awaken new interest in heraldry in Germany – an interest reaching beyond late-romantic idealization, rapturous sentiments and ideological involvement but with more sober pragmatism and an objective view on the future of its disciplines in an age of social changes.


Taking interest in heraldry as a general cultural phenomena is often a side-effect of investigations into one’s own family history but at the same time it is also expresses positive involvement in politics which manifests itself in an increasing interest in public heraldry i.e. the coats of arms of states, cities and communities.
The main driving force behind becoming an involvement with heraldry however remains to lie within one’s own family where the main activity field of innovative forces already exists.
Almost everyone can access this field of study relatively easily - after all most people have details of their parents, brothers and sisters and children and normally it is simple enough to obtain this data and have it confirmed.
But things do not usually end there and even the next step involves possibly having to overcome unexpected obstacles. If we come up against such obstacles or are faced with a veritable heap of obstacles that is when we need the help of others. Help, which can only be forthcoming from experienced people. There is many an amateur out there who through experience has become really proficient in the subject.

Our Symbol - the Surcoat

A long sleeveless tunica worn over the armour known as a surcoat or tabard; it was the official attire or vestment of the Herald and a sign of the prominent position afforded him through his knowledge.

Some of the surcoats still preserved show the coats-of-arms of German Prince Regnants as feudal lords of heralds. Some of them are decorated with what was later to become the symbol of the German nation i.e. a black eagle on a golden background. Together with the caduceus herald’s staves and the national colours gold, red and black it forms the symbol of the Wappen-HEROLD Deutsche Heraldische Gesellschaft e.v.

The Founder

DR. PHIL OTTFRIED NEUBECKER (22 March 1908 – 8 July1992)



    • Member of the Académie Internationale d'Héraldique

    • For many years, Chairman of the Fédération Internationale des Associations Vexillologiques

    • Honourable and corresponding member in national and international heraldic societies

    • Comendador de Numero of the Spanish order Raimundo de Peñafort

    • Holder of the Federal Cross of Merit

    • Author of more than 300 publications

    • Anonymous collaboration in external works and translations

    • Collaboration in lexical works including periodicals, essays in journals and newspapers, advertising and image series etc.



(If you are interested in reading or downloading the comprehensive list of publications, we can place them at your disposal in German).

Seine Bibliographie können Sie hier herunterladen (PDF, 21MB)

Standardised work

On our webpages, we present you with heraldically correct coats-of-arms from all over the world; arms which have been checked for correctness by experts in the respective country.

Globalisation is one of the top issues of our times. Everything is becoming more and more international and therefore it is all the more important that your family arms enjoy international protection. By registering your family coat-of-arms with Wappen Herold you ensure that it is legally protected worldwide. We cooperate with a network of internationally reputed heralds.

Eherold also provides professionals and anyone interested in the subject with an opportunity to access information on the current status of contemporary heraldry in various countries of the world. Such information is essential because heraldic rules or the entitlement to bear a coat- of-arms can vary from country to country. The presentation of a family coat-of-arms on eherold.org can be called on worldwide to safeguard the priority claim – regardless of the legal factors in the 193 countries in the world. The global announcement of the family coat-of-arms forms a basis alone for internationally documenting its priority.

For more than 45 years, the Wappen-Herold, Deutsche heraldische Gesellschaft e.V. in Germany has been working closely together with Pro Heraldica and also maintains close contacts with the International Academy of Genealogy, founded 1998 in Turin (Italy), and the International Acadamy of Heraldry (Académie Internationale d'Héraldique), founded 1949 in Paris. Both academies were established in order to bring together genealogists and heraldry experts from all over the world.

The objective of the genealogical academy is to promote and coordinate genealogical studies at an international level, to organize colloquia and to have genealogy recognized as a true discipline within the humanities worldwide.
The objective of the heraldic academy is to centralize heraldic studies on the basis of as much international cooperation as possible. You need to be elected to have a place in the Academy and the number of active academics is limited to 75. Dr. Rolf Sutter, Chairman of Wappen Herold is a member of both academies.

Die Geschichte des Eherold

Der eherold wurde in den späten 1980er Jahren begründet. Er ergänzte die bereits bestehende internationale Registrierung „Generalregister Wappenführender Familien“ (GWF) um eine weitere Dimension: Das Internet. Somit war die bis dato in Buchform verbreitete Veröffentlichung nun wahrhaft auf der ganzen Welt – bis hin zum Mount Everest – gegeben.
Die enthaltenen Registrierungen stammen zum größten Teil aus den Archiven von Dochtermann und seinen Nachfolgern sowie von Pro Heraldica.

Der eherold ist seit jeher über das Internet überall erreichbar. Seine Verbreitung war jedoch bislang durch die sprachliche Begrenzung im deutschsprachigen Raum limitiert.

Heute ist die Welt ohne Internet nicht mehr vorstellbar. Wie wichtig das Internet heute ist, zeigt sich am Konzern Google: 1998 gegründet hat man es schon zu einem Verb gebracht. Die Welt googelt.
Nicht zuletzt seit der Gründung von Pro Heraldica USA wurden wir verstärkt mit der Frage der Wappenregistrierung und hier insbesondere einer internationalen Registrierung konfrontiert. Dem leistet auch der eherold Folge.

Expertise

Verantwortlich für den eherold zeichnet der Wappen Herold in Zusammenarbeit mit Pro Heraldica, Deutsche Forschungsgesellschaft für Heraldik und Genealogie mbH.
Dementsprechend war deutsch die ursprüngliche Sprache des eherold.

Der Wappen-Herold

Im Jahre 1960 konstituierte sich die Deutsche Heraldische Gesellschaft - der Wappen-Herold.
Unser Ziel: Die Heraldik in Deutschland zu neuem Leben zu erwecken – jenseits spätromantischer Idealisierung, schwärmerischer Träumerei und ideologischen Verstrickungen. Dafür mit umso mehr nüchternem Pragmatismus und einem offenen Blick für die Zukunft seiner Disziplinen im Zeitalter des sozialen Wandels.
Das Interesse an der Heraldik als allgemeiner Kulturerscheinung erwächst oft aus der Beschäftigung mit der eigenen Familiengeschichte, aber auch aus der positiven Anteilnahme an der Politik, die sich in dem zunehmenden Interesse an der öffentlichen Heraldik, also dem Wappenwesen der Staaten, Städte und Gemeinden, manifestiert.
Die Beschäftigung mit der eigenen Familiengeschichte bildet aber weiterhin den Hauptantrieb, sich der Heraldik zuzuwenden. Liegt hier doch das Haupttätigkeitsfeld innovativer Kräfte bereit. Der Zugang zu diesem Studiengebiet eröffnet sich zwar für jedermann ziemlich leicht; jeder Mensch kennt doch - gemeinhin - die Personalien seiner Eltern, Geschwister und Kinder; und es ist also normalerweise ziemlich einfach, sich diese Daten zu beschaffen und beglaubigen zu lassen.

Dabei bleibt es aber nicht immer, denn sogar schon der nächste Schritt bedeutet die Überwindung von möglicherweise unerwarteten Hindernissen. Wenn sich Hindernisse ergeben oder gar auftürmen, wird mitmenschliche Hilfe vonnöten, Hilfe, die dann nur erfahrene Personen bieten können. So mancher Amateur hat sich durch angesammelte Erfahrung zum Profi gemausert.

Unser Symbol - Der Tappert

Ein mantelartiger Überwurf über die Rüstung - auch “Heroldsrock” war die Amtstracht des Herolds und Zeichen seiner prominenten Stellung, die ihm auf Grund seiner Kenntnisse zukam.
Manche der noch erhaltenen Tapperte zeigen Wappen deutscher Landesfürsten als Dienstherren der Herolde. Einige von Ihnen sind jedoch mit dem geschmückt was später das Wahrzeichen der deutschen Nation werden sollte: der schwarze Adler auf goldenem Grund. Dieser bildet zusammen mit den Heroldstäben und den Nationalfarben Gold, Rot und Schwarz das Zeichen des Wappen-HEROLD, Deutsche Heraldische Gesellschaft e.V.

Der Gründer

Dr. phil Ottfried Neubecker (22.3.1908 – 8.7.1992)



    • Mitglied der Académie Internationale d'Héraldique

    • Langjähriger Vorsitzender der Fédération Internationale des Associations Vexillologiques

    • Ehren- und korrespondierendes Mitglied in nationalen und internationalen heraldischen Gesellschaften

    • Comendador de Numero des spanischen Ordens Raimundo de Peñafort

    • Träger des Bundesverdienstkreuzes

    • über 300 selbständige Schriften

    • anonyme Mitarbeit an fremden Arbeiten und Übersetzungen

    • Mitarbeit an Lexikalischen Werken bzw. Serienwerken, Aufsätzen in Zeitschriften und Zeitungen, Reklame- und Bilderserien etc.



Das umfangreiche Schriftenverzeichnis stellen wir hier allen Interessierten zum Lesen oder Herunterladen zur Verfügung.

Seine Bibliographie können Sie hier herunterladen (PDF, 21MB)

Einheitliches Werk

Auf unserer Seite zeigen wir Ihnen für alle Länder der Welt heraldisch korrekte Wappenabbildungen, die von Experten in den jeweiligen Ländern auf ihre Korrektheit überprüft wurden.

Globalisierung ist ein großes Thema unserer Zeit. Alles wird internationaler. Umso wichtiger ist es, dass ihr Wappen auch internationalen Schutz genießt. Durch die Registrierung Ihres Wappens beim Wappen Herold machen sie ihr Wappen international rechtssicher. Wir arbeiten mit einem Netzwerk von international anerkannten Heraldikern zusammen.

Eherold bietet die Möglichkeit für Interessierte und Fachleute, sich über den aktuellen Stand zeitgenössischer Heraldik in den verschiedenen Ländern der Welt zu informieren. Denn die Regeln der Heraldik oder die Führungsberechtigung der Familienwappen können von Land zu Land unterschiedlich sein. Die Präsentation des Wappens auf Eherold.org kann weltweit zur Sicherung des Prioritätsanspruchs herangezogen werden - unabhängig von den jeweiligen rechtlichen Gegebenheiten in den 193 Ländern der Erde. Allein die globale Bekanntmachung des Wappens bietet die Basis, international seine Vorrangigkeit zu dokumentieren.

Seit über 45 Jahren arbeitet der WappenHerold, Deutsche heraldische Gesellschaft e.V. in Deutschland eng mit Pro Heraldica zusammen und pflegt einen engen Kontakt zur Internationalen Akademie der Genealogie, gegründet 1998 in Turin (Italien), und der Internationalen Akademie der Heraldik (Académie Internationale d'Héraldique), gegründet 1949 in Paris. Die beiden Akdamien wurden gegründet um weltweit Ahnenforscher und Experten der Wappenkunde zusammenzubringen.
Ziel der genealogischen Akademie ist es, genealogische Studien auf internationalem Niveau zu fördern und zu koordinieren, Zusammenkünfte und Kolloquien zu organisieren und die Genealogie weltweit zu einer echten Disziplin innerhalb der Geisteswissenschaften zu machen.
Das Ziel der heraldischen Akademie ist es, heraldische Studien auf der Grundlage größtmöglicher internationaler Zusammenarbeit zu zentralisieren. Um einen Platz in der Akademie zu erhalten, muss man sich wählen lassen. Die Zahl der aktiven Akademikern ist dabei auf 75 begrenzt. Dr. Rolf Sutter, Vorsitzender des Wappen Herold ist Mitglied in beiden Akademien.